About the Music Department

The mission of the Music Department is to provide students opportunities to experience a broad spectrum of music from the Western fine art tradition, the many genres of American music, and the music of other cultures. Through the courses and performances offered by the department, students will develop an understanding of artistic expression as an essential part of life and learn skills essential to musicians today. Students may choose a major or minor with a concentration in performance, history, or theory/composition.

The department has a unique relationship with the total educational experience in that students majoring in other areas are invited and encouraged to participate in all classes, ensembles, and applied lessons. Students are given the opportunity to initiate and/or continue development of their musical interests and talents.




Chairperson: Reed Gratz
Music Department Faculty: Kathleen Lamkin, Reed Gratz, Michael Ryan, Carol Stephenson, Gayle Serdan, Robert Dominguez, MohWei Chen-Hribar, Grace Xia Zhao, Steven Biondo, Pebber Brown, Roberto Catalano, Steve Alaniz, Danielle Cummins, Eileen Holt and Richard Mooney